Waiting on Wednesday (#10)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine
and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

My picks for this week:


 

The Dark Between

The Dark Between
by Sonia Gensler
Expected publication: August 27th 2013
Hardcover, 352 pages
Genre: Supernatural Romance

Add-to-Goodreads-button

A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

 

Why I’m waiting…

This is listed as a supernatural romance, but from reading the synopsis it seems like so much more than that. The Dark Between looks like a spine-chilling tale that I simply must have.

 

Four Summoner's Tales

Four Summoner’s Tales
by Kelley Armstrong, David Liss,
Christopher Golden, Jonathan Maberry
Expected publication: September 17th 2013
Hardcover, 336 pages
Genre: Horror, Urban Fantasy

Add-to-Goodreads-button

Four terror-inducing novellas from acclaimed bestselling authors Kelley Armstrong, David Liss, Christopher Golden, and Jonathan Maberry beginning with the premise: “A stranger comes to town, offering to raise the townsfolk’s dearly departed from the dead—for a price.”

In Kelley Armstrong’s “Suffer the Children,” an acute diphtheria outbreak kills most of the children in an isolated village in nineteen-century Ontario. Then a stranger arrives and offers to bring the children back to life. He wants money, of course, an extravagant sum, but more importantly, but for each child resurrected, one villager must voluntarily offer his life…

In David Liss’s “The Good-Natured Man,” a con man on the margins of eighteenth-century British society discovers a book that reveals the method for bringing the dead back to life. After considering just how far he would go to avoid bringing his violent father back, he realizes the real value of this book. Instead of getting people to pay him to revive their departed, he will get people to pay him not to…

In “Pipers” by Christopher Golden, the Texas Border Volunteers wage a private war against drug smuggling by Mexican cartels in a modern-day South Texas town, complete with an indestructible army of the risen dead…

In “Alive Day” by Jonathan Maberry, a US Army sergeant must dive into the underworld of modern-day Afghanistan to try and barter for the release of his team, never dreaming of the horrors that await him.

 

Why I’m waiting…

First reason: I am a Jonathan Maberry stalker. As soon as I saw his name I was sold. Second reason: Did you read the synopsis? It begins with the words “Four terror-inducing novellas…” Enough said. This anthology is going to rock the house, baby!

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

Follow on Bloglovin

The following two tabs change content below.
Wife, homeschooling mom, YA author of paranormal, dark fantasy, and horror, huge fan of the Oxford comma, book blogger, crafter, baker of sweet things, lover of the culinary arts, self-appointed zombie slayer.