Waiting on Wednesday (#10)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine
and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.


My picks for this week:


 

The Dark Between

The Dark Between
by Sonia Gensler
Expected publication: August 27th 2013
Hardcover, 352 pages
Genre: Supernatural Romance

Add-to-Goodreads-button

A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

 

Why I’m waiting…

This is listed as a supernatural romance, but from reading the synopsis it seems like so much more than that. The Dark Between looks like a spine-chilling tale that I simply must have.

 

Four Summoner's Tales

Four Summoner’s Tales
by Kelley Armstrong, David Liss,
Christopher Golden, Jonathan Maberry
Expected publication: September 17th 2013
Hardcover, 336 pages
Genre: Horror, Urban Fantasy

Add-to-Goodreads-button

Four terror-inducing novellas from acclaimed bestselling authors Kelley Armstrong, David Liss, Christopher Golden, and Jonathan Maberry beginning with the premise: “A stranger comes to town, offering to raise the townsfolk’s dearly departed from the dead—for a price.”

In Kelley Armstrong’s “Suffer the Children,” an acute diphtheria outbreak kills most of the children in an isolated village in nineteen-century Ontario. Then a stranger arrives and offers to bring the children back to life. He wants money, of course, an extravagant sum, but more importantly, but for each child resurrected, one villager must voluntarily offer his life…

In David Liss’s “The Good-Natured Man,” a con man on the margins of eighteenth-century British society discovers a book that reveals the method for bringing the dead back to life. After considering just how far he would go to avoid bringing his violent father back, he realizes the real value of this book. Instead of getting people to pay him to revive their departed, he will get people to pay him not to…

In “Pipers” by Christopher Golden, the Texas Border Volunteers wage a private war against drug smuggling by Mexican cartels in a modern-day South Texas town, complete with an indestructible army of the risen dead…

In “Alive Day” by Jonathan Maberry, a US Army sergeant must dive into the underworld of modern-day Afghanistan to try and barter for the release of his team, never dreaming of the horrors that await him.

 

Why I’m waiting…

First reason: I am a Jonathan Maberry stalker. As soon as I saw his name I was sold. Second reason: Did you read the synopsis? It begins with the words “Four terror-inducing novellas…” Enough said. This anthology is going to rock the house, baby!


What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

Follow on Bloglovin

The following two tabs change content below.
Wife, mother, blogger, author, gamer, and a lover of the culinary arts. Toni lives in Michigan with her husband and four children. If she's not writing or curled up with a book, you'll most likely find her playing with her kids, baking cupcakes, or killing zombies.
  • The Dark Between sounds pretty good! I really like the cover-the portraits are beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing! 🙂

    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  • Hot *insert bad word here* Four Summoner’s Tales sounds amazing!!!!!!!!! And the Dark Between sounds creepy, need something to scare me these days (not many books do that anymore).

    Thanks as always for stopping by my WoW!

    Diayll @M/G/W

    PS.
    By looking at your blog tours, it seems you have a thing for the supernatural, thrillers, monsters and the dead…lolzzzz

    PPS.
    Your bloggy button is soooo cute 🙂

    • Have you read The Haunting Season? It’s on my blog tour schedule. I’m not reviewing it for the tour, but I’ve heard awesome things about it’s creepiness and will be reviewing it soon. I’ll let you know if it tips the scary scale!

      Yes, I do love all those genres. I keep telling myself that I’m going to branch out and start reading romance or NA, but I just love the dark side too much. Haha.

      Thanks so much!

      • No I haven’t read it but let me know how it is! I mostly read creepy graphic novels for my fix. They tend to be better on the suspense/blood/death/gore/scary thing.

        OMG NA is something I in the past would NOT have read. But I’ve managed to pick up quite a few that just leave me breathless! Let me know if you need recommendations!

  • Stephanie Verhaegen

    Great picks! =D I would love to read Four Summoner’s Tales! I love Kelley Armstrong.

    ~Stephanie @ Bookfever

    • Thanks so much for stopping by today! I can’t wait to see what you think of Four Summoner’s Tales!

  • Jody A Kessler

    Great looking covers today! I will definitely be checking these picks out.

  • This was my WOW last week. Have you read Sonia Gensler’s other book The Revenant? So good. 🙂

    Following!

    Sabrina iheartyafiction

    • I haven’t, but I just added it to my TBR list on Goodreads. Thanks for letting me know about it! and for following 🙂

  • The Dark Between looks amazing and I love that cover. They had me at fans for Libba Bray. Great pick!

    Natflix&Books’ WoW

  • Stasia

    Looking forward to THE DARK BETWEEN–that cover would look so cool next to IN THE SHADOW OF BLACKBIRDS on a bookshelf! I’m a mom-of-four, too, btw! Power to the blogger-moms!

    • Wouldn’t it? I thought the same thing! Power to the blogger moms! Ha, I like that 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by today!

  • Camila Castro

    I don’t usually read horror and only know Kelley Armstrong, but Four Summoner’s Tales sounds so good. Actually, so does The Dark Between. Maybe it’s time to get into a new genre…

  • ooh both of those look awesome! Great picks 🙂

    Jaime @ Two Chicks On Books

  • The cover and synopsis of The Dark Between remind me a bit of In the Shadow of Blackbirds, which was wonderful. Thanks for visiting!

    Stephanie (Go Flash Go) @ Read, Rinse, Repeat

  • I’m loving the look of both of these especially The Dark Between! Great picks 🙂

    Thanks for dropping by myWoW post!

    Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

  • The Dark Between Sounds great, and I’m close to Cambridge, so the setting’s something I’m interesting in too 🙂

  • I’m very interesed in The dark between! I always like spooky stories.

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

  • Toni I love both of these picks..nothing like a little horror and paranormal romance, I agree the synopsis of the dark between hints at something more. thanks for stopping by My WoW and for sharing these lovlies!