What age group is the book Scat for?

What is the theme of Scat?

Scat clearly tells the need for conserving our planet, what happens when humans become greedy in the quest for wealth, and how it affects the animals. The themes are not shoved down the reader’s throat – they are woven into the story deftly.

Is Scat a good book?

His first and second books for young readers, “Hoot” (2002) and “Flush” (2005),won awards and legions of fans. His latest, “Scat,” won’t disappoint Hiaasenphiles of any age. What’s truly amazing is how much mileage Hiaasen gets here from mining the same narrow niche. Every novel is an eco-mystery set in Florida.

What is the order of Carl Hiaasen books?

Order of Carl Hiaasen Standalone Novels

# Title Published
1 Tourist Season 1986
2 Strip Tease 1993
3 Lucky You 1997
4 Basket Case 2002

Is scat a mystery?

What Parents Need to Know. Parents need to know that Carl Hiassen’s Scat is a mystery that involves protecting endangered Florida panthers. There’s some violence, though it mostly happens offstage, including a father who loses an arm to an RPG in Iraq.

Is flush realistic fiction?

Flush is a young adult novel by Carl Hiaasen first published in 2005, and set in Hiaasen’s native Florida.Flush (novel)

First edition cover
Author Carl Hiaasen
Country United States
Language English
Genre Realistic Fiction

Where does scat take place?

Like Hoot and Flush, Scat takes place in Florida.

What happens at the end of scat?

As the narrative ends, Mrs. Starch returns to the school, and the students appreciate her. Nick, Marta, and Smoke are heroes for reuniting the panthers. Nick’s father now has a prosthetic right arm.

Who writes like Carl Hiaasen?

If You Like Carl Hiaasen

  • Tricky Business by Dave Barry.
  • Legally Dead by Edna Buchanan.
  • A Salty Piece of Land by Jimmy Buffett.
  • The Godfather of Kathmandu by John Burdett.
  • Atomic Lobster by Tim Dorsey.
  • Rolling Thunder: a John Ceepak mystery by Chris Grabenstein.
  • Magic City by James W.
  • Aloha, Mr.

What Carl Hiaasen books were made into movies?

Carl Hiaasen

Is Carl Hiaasen working on a new book?

Carl’s new book of advice for young people – Assume the Worst: The Graduation Speech You’ll Never Hear – is now available.

What is the animal in the book scat?

In SCAT, it’s a Florida panther. What made you choose that particular animal? Florida panthers are among the most endangered species on the planet – experts say there could be only 60 to 100 of the cats remaining.

What school is scat book?

Scat is the story of Nick and Marta, whose biology teacher didn’t return from a class field trip to the Black Vine swamp. Not that Mrs. Starch is going to be missed
she was the most fearsome teacher at Truman School.

What is Nick’s last name in the book scat?

The book Scat by Carl Hiaasen is about a fire, an inhaler, and a panther. The main character, Nick Waters, has always wanted to see a panther. At the beginning of the book, a kid called Smoke (His real name is Duane Scrod Jr.)

What was the last straw that made Dad give up on going after Dusty?

What was the “last straw” that made Dad give up on going after Dusty? Abby risked her neck to videotape the Coral Queen. Mom threatened to divorce him if he didn’t give up.

What is Noah and Abbey’s plan?

On their way home, Jasper and Bull intercept them on their bikes. Jasper has Noah’s bike. Abbey is biting Bull’s earlobe. Noah makes a deal that Abbey will stop biting if they let Abbey go unharmed.

Who is Jasper Jr in the book Flush?

Jasper Jr. is the son of Dusty Muleman, the owner of the Coral Queen casino boat and, as Noah states in Flush, “a well-known jerk.” Throughout the novel, Jasper Jr. confronts, and sometimes physically harms, Noah with the help of his friend Bull because of Paine Underwood’s actions. Noah stands up to Jasper Jr.

Who started the fire in scat?

The police found out it was an controlled forest fire. Everyone thinks the fire was started by Duane Scrod Jr., who had a history of committing arson, to get back at his teacher. Duane goes missing for a long time. Then when he returns he is so well behaved.

What happened to the teacher in scat?

Scat, Hiaasen’s third novel for children, follows the same formula, but never feels formulaic. The basic plot is simple. On a school trip to the Black Vine Swamp, Mrs Starch, “the most feared teacher at the Truman School”, disappears during a sudden, unexplained fire.

What genre is the novel scat?

Scat

What is the plot of scat?

When their biology teacher, Mrs. Bunny Starch, disappears, the two students are drawn into a conflict between a ruthless oil company and an informal band of environmentalists bent on protecting the breeding grounds of an endangered Florida panther and her cub. The novel opens in Mrs. Starch’s class.

What should I read if I like Christopher Moore?

Read-Alikes for Christopher Moore

  • Josh Bazell. Josh Bazell has a BA in writing from Brown University and an MD from Columbia.
  • Donna Woolfolk Cross. Donna Woolfolk Cross graduated cum laude from the University of Pennsylvania with a B.A. in English.

What was the first Tim Dorsey book?

Florida Roadkill is the first book by Tim Dorsey. The book concentrates on Serge Storms. William Morrow and Company published it in 1999.