What age is Pet book for?

In Akwaeke Emezi’s beautiful, genre-expanding debut young adult novel, PET (203 pp., Make Me a World, $17.99
ages 12 and up) — a finalist for a National Book Award — the lines serve as both a clarion call and a reminder that utopian communities like Lucille are not only created, they must be fought for and maintained.

What happens in the book Pet?

Parents need to know that Pet, by Akwaeke Emezi, is a science fiction-fantasy novel about a transgender teen girl who hunts a child abuser in her town with the help of a creature that comes to life from her mother’s painting.

Is Pet a good book?

A thought-provoking and haunting novel about a creature that escapes from an artist’s canvas, whose talent is sniffing out monsters in a world that claims they don’t exist anymore. Perfect for fans of Akata Witch and Shadowshaper . There are no monsters anymore, or so the children in the city of Lucille are taught.

How old is jam in Pet?

Characters. Jam is the protagonist of the novel. A 15-year-old Black trans girl, she is selectively nonverbal. Jam is supported and loved by her family and community.

What is the death of Vivek Oji about?

What follows is the tumultuous, heart-wrenching story of one family’s struggle to understand a child whose spirit is both gentle and mysterious. Raised by a distant father and an understanding but overprotective mother, Vivek suffers disorienting blackouts, moments of disconnection between self and surroundings.

Who is the monster in Pet?

The two are horrified when Redemption discovers that his younger brother, Moss, is the victim and that Redemption’s uncle, Hibiscus, is the monster. Pet and Redemption are so angry that they want to kill Hibiscus, but Jam urges them to take the situation to the adults and the authorities.

What is the theme of the book Pet?

The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke Emezi that explores themes of identity and justice. Pet is here to hunt a monster. Are you brave enough to look? There are no monsters anymore, or so the children in the city of Lucille are taught.

How does Pet by Akwaeke Emezi end?

By the end of the story, Hibiscus is laced with a blinding gaseous truth potion to admit his abuse on his nephew.

What genre is Pet by Akwaeke Emezi?

Pet

What is Lucille in Pet?

Pet by Akwaeke Emezi (Make Me a World 2019) Pet by Akwaeke Emezi is set in a utopian city, Lucille, where evil people, also called “monsters” no longer exist, but have been replaced by “angels”, good people who try to establish justice and peace.

What is the 151 Pet in Prodigy?

Applepot

Name Evolution(s) ID
Acromi Browl 29
Applepot None 151
Aquadile None 158
Aquamarina Mermina, Cuddlefin 12

How many pages is Pet Sematary?

373

First edition cover
Author Stephen King
Media type Print (Hardcover)
Pages 373 (1st ed.)
ISBN 978-0-385-18244-7

Who is the author of Pet?

Is the death of Vivek Oji LGBT?

Akwaeke Emezi has written a new kind of queer coming of age story: there are no labels, no grand coming out scenes, no bullying or violence stemming from the main character’s LGBTQ+ identity. Set in Nigeria, The Death of Vivek Oji tells the complete story of this one queer life, from birth to death.

Is the death of Vivek Oji ya?

The Death of Vivek Oji is a 2020 novel by Nigerian author Akwaeke Emezi. Published by Riverhead books, it narrates the life of Vivek Oji until his death.

The Death of Vivek Oji
Author Akwaeke Emezi
Media type Print, E-book
Pages 248
ISBN 9780525541608

Why did Akwaeke Emezi write Pet?

This is the kind of future where she can be loved by someone who, perhaps, in a worse and different life, would have tried to hurt her. I also wanted to write a book that wasn’t about black trans people dying, because I feel like that’s so much of when people pay attention to black trans women.