Review & Giveaway! Poison (Wind Dancer #1) by Lan Chan

Poison

Poison
by Lan Chan
Series: Wind Dancer #1
Published: September 1st 2015
Category: YA
Genre: Dystopian

My Rating:

Add-to-Goodreads-button Amazon-button
*Purchase links support this blog

Since the night her mother was murdered, sixteen-year-old Rory Gray has known one truth: There are no good Seeders.

In post-apocalyptic Australia, the scientists known as Seeders have built a Citadel surrounded by food-producing regions and populated with refugees from the wars and famine. To maintain their control, the Seeders poisoned the land and outlawed the saving of seeds.

It’s been six years since Rory graced the Seeders’ circus stage as the Wind Dancer and still the scars on her body haven’t healed. Even worse are the scars on her heart, left by a Seeder boy who promised to protect her.

Now the Seeders are withholding supplies from Rory’s region for perceived disobedience. Utilising the Wanderer knowledge she received from her mother, Rory must journey to the Citadel through uninhabitable terrain to plead for mercy.

However, the Citadel isn’t as Rory remembered. The chief plant geneticist is dying and rumours fly that the store of viable seed is dwindling. The Seeders are desperate to find a seed bank they believe Rory can locate, and they will stop at nothing to get it.

To defy the Seeders means death. But Rory has been close to death before–this time she’s learned the value of poison.

Recommended for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, strong protagonists, minority characters, circuses and nature!

PoisonTourBanner1

~My Thoughts~

Wow.

Just… wow.

This book was even better than I expected it to be!

That sounds negative. I don’t mean for it to be.

It’s not that I didn’t think the book would be good, but I had heard from other readers that there were a few Hunger Games similarities and I was afraid that it might rub me the wrong way. Like another rehashed version of the series.

Luckily it wasn’t even an issue.

Phew!

Poison is an action packed thrill ride that I read very quickly. Don’t think you can just ease into this one. It grabs the reader right in the beginning and makes it nearly impossible to look away. If you have something to do – dishes, laundry, picking up children from school – please do it first so you don’t get caught up and forget.

The plot is unique in its own way, and there’s a little bit of something for everyone tucked into each page – from romance to savagery and everything in between. I love that the story is set in Australia, too. I have only read a handful of other books set there and it’s interesting to compare from one author to another.

The characters that Chan has crafted are genuinely intriguing. Rory is brave and determined. She pulls you in and keeps the reader engaged right away. The romantic elements of the story are unusually convincing. So much that you can actually feel as you read. This is by far one of my favorite YA Dystopian reads in the last year. I highly recommend to fans of the genre!!

~About the Author~

Lan1

Lan Chan is a writer, gardener and professional procrastinator based in Melbourne, Australia. She is still waiting for her super powers to manifest but until then she writes young adult novels featuring strong female protagonists, minority characters and has a particular interest in dystopias and urban fantasy. Lan’s debut novel POISON, the first in her WIND DANCER series is due for release in September 2015.

Lan’s Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

~Giveaway~

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The following two tabs change content below.
Follower of Jesus, loving wife, homeschooling mom, blogger, author, gamer, and a lover of the culinary arts. Toni lives in Michigan with her husband and four children. If she's not writing or curled up with a book, you'll most likely find her playing with her kids, baking cupcakes, or killing zombies.
  • I love this genre but it’s true that finding one that stands out has become difficult – I’m glad that this one does it! It sounds unique and well written, and Rory sounds like a great MC that’s easy to connect with!

  • Marcy Meyer

    This book sounds really interesting. The cover is great too.

  • DJohnson

    Sounds like a good read!

  • Angelina

    looking forward in reading it!

  • Lee Todd

    sounds great!

  • Maria Theresa Santos

    sounds amazing

  • Roselle Torres

    sounds good! Thanks for sharing 🙂