What is the book Freshwater about?

“Freshwater” follows Ada from her turbulent girlhood, in Nigeria—wooed away by a work opportunity in London, Ada’s mother leaves her and her siblings behind with their aloof, self-obsessed father—to college, in Virginia, where she is raped by another student. The trauma jostles Asughara awake.

Is Freshwater a true story?

Akwaeke Emezi’s extraordinary debut novel ‘Freshwater’ is the real life tale of a queer, trans, black, African, Nigerian writer as they attempt to navigate the occasionally odd sensation of being alive.

Is Freshwater an autobiography?

Being an autobiographical novel, Freshwater intimately deals with your personal demons.

What is the death of Vivek Oji about?

What follows is the tumultuous, heart-wrenching story of one family’s struggle to understand a child whose spirit is both gentle and mysterious. Raised by a distant father and an understanding but overprotective mother, Vivek suffers disorienting blackouts, moments of disconnection between self and surroundings.

What is the book pet about?

Parents need to know that Pet, by Akwaeke Emezi, is a science fiction-fantasy novel about a transgender teen girl who hunts a child abuser in her town with the help of a creature that comes to life from her mother’s painting.

Who wrote freshwater?

What genre is freshwater?

Freshwater

What is considered freshwater?

The definition of freshwater is water containing less than 1,000 milligrams per liter of dissolved solids, most often salt. As a part of the water cycle, Earth’s surface-water bodies are generally thought of as renewable resources, although they are very dependent on other parts of the water cycle.

Who published freshwater?

Freshwater is published by Faber. To order a copy for £8.80 (RRP £10) go to guardianbookshop.com or call 0330 333 6846.

What is Asughara?

Ada’s most prominent and powerful identity, Asughara (which translates as the Igbo word for “dagger”), is born from Ada’s sexual assault. Asughara presents Ada’s most malicious self, toying with sex and emotion for her own amusement.

What genre is freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi?

Freshwater

Is the death of Vivek Oji LGBT?

Akwaeke Emezi has written a new kind of queer coming of age story: there are no labels, no grand coming out scenes, no bullying or violence stemming from the main character’s LGBTQ+ identity. Set in Nigeria, The Death of Vivek Oji tells the complete story of this one queer life, from birth to death.

How long is the death of Vivek Oji?

248

The Death of Vivek Oji
Author Akwaeke Emezi
Media type Print, E-book
Pages 248
ISBN 9780525541608

Where is the death of Vivek Oji set?

Early in the novel, set in southeastern Nigeria during the 1980s and ’90s, we learn that Vivek was born on the same day that his grandmother Ahunna died.

Who is the monster in Pet?

The two are horrified when Redemption discovers that his younger brother, Moss, is the victim and that Redemption’s uncle, Hibiscus, is the monster. Pet and Redemption are so angry that they want to kill Hibiscus, but Jam urges them to take the situation to the adults and the authorities.

How old is jam in Pet?

At the center of “Pet” is 15-year-old Jam, a trans girl who is loved and protected by her family, and an entire city.

Is Pet a good book?

A thought-provoking and haunting novel about a creature that escapes from an artist’s canvas, whose talent is sniffing out monsters in a world that claims they don’t exist anymore. Perfect for fans of Akata Witch and Shadowshaper . There are no monsters anymore, or so the children in the city of Lucille are taught.

Where does Akwaeke Emezi live?

Akwaeke Emezi, 31, is a writer and video artist of Nigerian and Malaysian heritage and a “nonbinary trans and plural person”. Nigerian-born and raised, they currently live in Brooklyn.

What is ogbanje freshwater?

Freshwater deploys. the concept of the ogbanje (spirit child) in Igbo culture to problematize not only the. idea of being human in Igbo cosmology, but also to foreground the fluidity and. social constructedness of identities in general and sexual identities in particular.

Is water brackish?

Brackish water is a broad term used to describe water that is more saline than freshwater but less saline than true marine environments. Often these are transitional areas between fresh and marine waters. An estuary, which is the part of a river that meets the sea, is the best known example of brackish water.

Are all rivers freshwater?

Salt water is 97% of all water and is found mostly in our oceans and seas. Fresh water is found in glaciers, lakes, reservoirs, ponds, rivers, streams, wetlands and even groundwater.

Is freshwater also called hard water?

Natural freshwaters are characterized as being “hard” and “soft”. Extremely soft water is almost like distilled water with low concentrations of dissolved chemicals. You might find such water in a high mountain lake or stream.

What are some examples of freshwater?

Rivers, creeks, lakes, ponds, and streams are all freshwater habitats. So are wetlands like swamps, which have woody plants and trees
and marshes, which have no trees but lots of grasses and reeds. Freshwater accounts for only three percent of the world’s water. (The rest is saltwater.)

What happens at the end of freshwater?

Ada takes control of the gods and goddesses inside her, exhibiting her strength, and ends the novel by saying, she is the “source of the spring” and that “all freshwater comes out of [her] mouth” (226).

Who distributes Grove Press?

Publishers Group West

Parent company Grove/Atlantic
Headquarters location New York City, New York
Distribution Publishers Group West
Publication types Books
Imprints Black Cat